SCCLFF Board of Directors receives award from statewide library association

Award plaque given by the CPLA to the Santa Clara Library Foundation and Friends board.

We are proud to share that the Santa Clara City Library Foundation & Friends Board of Directors received an award from CPLA (California Public Library Advocates) for their work on the Northside Library.  At the awards luncheon it was shared that:

“Founded in 2001, the Foundation’s role since that time has focused primarily on fundraising and book sales, raising $250K-$350K per year. That dramatically changed in January 2012 when then City Manager Jennifer Sparacino requested that the Foundation take on the fiduciary responsibilities for construction of the new $19M Northside Branch Library. Since that time, the Board of Directors, with the assistance of 1 FTE staff, has taken on fiduciary responsibility for a construction project and launched a fundraising campaign for the new Library, in addition to maintaining all its usual fundraising and advocacy work. When the project was halted on July 26, 2013, due to legal battles between government entities, it launched a massive advocacy campaign. “

Here are the headlines:

  • Eleven-member Board accepts responsibility for $18M”
  • Board appoints a sub-committee to oversee construction process and make swift decisions
  • “Board members launch fundraising campaign for Northside Branch Library”
  • “Remaining board members collaborate to assume the organization’s other responsibilities”
  • “Temporary restraining order halts project, causes legal issues, and increases organization’s advocacy and construction workload”

CPLA is a statewide organization that supports California Libraries’ trustees, foundations, and friends groups.  Congratulations to our volunteer Board Members for this wonderful accomplishment.    The Santa Clara City Library Foundation and Friends Board members are Emily Adorable, Sabiha Chunawala, Barbara Hounslow, Jim Lyons, Martha Hull, Dr. Mohammed Nadeem, Carly Sherman, Keith Stattenfield, Dave Stringer-Calvert, Nancy Toledo, Kirthi Vani, Kathy Watanabe, and Ken Young.

%d bloggers like this: